Screen Shot 2015-06-22 at 11.02.42 AM.png
Screen Shot 2015-06-22 at 11.02.42 AM.png


Ben King



Ben King


Ben's Stats

  • DOB: March 22, 1989
  • Birth Place: Richmond, VA
  • Current Residence: Lucca, Italy
  • Nationality: USA
  • Height: 183 cm
  • Weight: 68 kg
  • Strengths: Breakaway, domestique
  • Pro Since: 2008

Q&A with Ben

  • What is your favorite music to listen to?

    Whatever the mood calls for. There’s a little of everything on my playlist.

  • What do you listen to for your TT warmup?

    I often warm-up without music, but if I do it’s usually something dark and melodic.

  • Do you have any unique pre-race routines or lucky charms?


  • What food do you miss most when you are traveling away from home?

    One of the best parts about living in Italy during the season is the food. It feels right eating Italian food in Italy, but when I need it, there is a microbrewery with great hamburgers nearby. Good spicy Mexican food is the hardest to find in Europe, but I like to cook. You can find tortillas in the international foods section of the grocery store beside the maple syrup.

  • What is the first memory you have of riding a bicycle?

    Riding around the col-du-sac with walkie talkies playing games with my sister in our neighborhood.

  • What was your first professional race and how did it go?

    My first race with a pro team was the Tour of Bahamas with Kelly Benefits/Medifast. I made the breakaway in the road race. Then my saddle fell off.

  • What is your favorite race and why?

    I love California, because it’s really special racing in the USA. While Utah and Colorado are also among my favorites, I’m not a natural altitude guy.

  • What is your proudest accomplishment thus far?

    Completing my first Tour de France in 2014 and winning the 2010 USA Pro Championships.

  • What do you like to do when you have time at home that is not cycling?

    Archery, fish, hike, snowboard, swim, cliff jump, guitar, read, write, cook, volunteer, travel

  • What career would you have pursued if not for cycling? Or, what was your favorite subject in school?

    I was studying Marketing at Virginia Tech, but my favorite class there was a creative writing class.

  • What would you like fans to know about you?

    I appreciate all of their support! When I’m guttered out in some windy wet field, eating road dirt from the wheel in front of me, and suffering like a pig far from home it’s nice to know that people actually care about what we’re doing. There’s no way I’d be where I am without my faith, family, friends, and fans.